Posted by: Satheesh Kumar Muthu | March 14, 2010

Karthik Calling Karthik & Vinnaithandi Varuvaaya

KCK-The movie was pretty good for me to watch as I like Farhan Akhtar-really a very decent guy(unlike me haha). And of course, I’m a growing-up fan of Deepika recently,after watching some of her movies. But I liked her most in the movie ‘Love Aaj Kal’ for her incredible action. And yeah she looks cute too. But the story line of KCK was somewhat routine to me. The movie title itself made me guess what might be the concept of the movie and believe me,my guess was absolutely correct. Farhan suffers from ‘Multiple Personality Disorder’ in this movie which is familiar to all of us who had watched the movie ‘Anniyan'(Aparichithudu in Telugu).  Overall, I should say that I enjoyed watching it. Moreover, the songs are cool.

Actually, I got to watch ‘Karthik Calling Karthik’ accidentally when I went to a Cine Complex in Coimbatore to watch the movie ‘Vinnaithandi Varuvaaya'(Ye Maaya Chesave in Telugu) and failed to get a ticket. The next day, feeling bored at my relatives’ home I went to the complex again and this time,luckily, I managed to get the ticket for ‘Vinnaithandi Varuvaaya.’ But it was only after watching the movie I realized that it was infact unlucky that I got the ticket. I got very much disappointed by the storyline of the movie. Further, the movie is somewhat slow. Throughout the movie I was eagerly waiting for ‘The End’ on the screen. The movie hasn’t much the matter as I had expected,except for those beautiful songs. Atleast,I could enjoy the Music of the ‘Mozart of Madras’. And the climax-Pssssshhh once again sad ending. Seriously,got bored of watching these sad endings in Tamil movies. There’s a misconception among Telugu people that Tamilians like only those movies with sad endings. Some even call them as ‘Psychotic People.’ I never agree with this, bcoz there may be atleast a few exceptions(like me) who don’t like sad endings….

Responses

  1. I too had guessed the story line in the first 10 mins, so it got a little boring sitting through the entire movie….but anyway i think it was a good movie nonetheless

  2. Ye maaya chesave was ok. It didn’t have any sad end, though… What was the storyline in tamil??

  3. @ Akhila
    Hey Hiiiii…For you it may be Ok. But for me ‘Ye Maaya Chesave’ was simply superb. Its an ever-memorable experience for me watching the movie. I didn’t even expect that I would enjoy the movie to this extent, after being greatly disappointed by the Tamil version. Its probably because New Actors in Telugu version made the movie Rejuvenating. And the voice of Samantha by Chinmayi has driven me mad. Hey I guess you are familiar with this famous singer Chinmayi. I’m following her blog since 1 yr. You can see it among the list of blogs I follow.
    Ofcourse,almost the whole of the movie is same in Tamil version except for the climax where the Heroine is so egoistic that she marries another person.

  4. Oh… when I said ok, I was refering to the absence of ANY depressing bits of story 😀

    I enjoyed the movie… Wonderful! And I’d have hated it if this movie was same as that of tamil version…

    Thank god, I dont know tamil! Or I would have missed this experience 🙂

    The way goutham menon designed jessie’s character is wonderful. I’m impressed, really. I find no better word to show how impressed I am 🙂

  5. @ Akhila
    Hmmmmmm 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

